Tags

, , ,

Free write about three songs of importance in my life for fifteen minutes.  Dang, I froze because my head got flooded with fragments of songs clogging up my brain. I’ve loved music since way back when. All kinds of music too.  My parents were a bit older when they had me.  So I’ve grown up with the music of the old movie musicals playing on the TV Sunday mornings.  My sisters are several years older than me.  This meant folk artists of the 60s-70s like Carly Simon and who was it that sang, “You’ve got a friend” to the new wave/alternative bands once they started to emerge.  But then the other sister liked rock and my music experience ended up adding Steely Dan, The Eagles and Aerosmith.  Not a wonder I ended up in college doing a college radio DJ gig for a little bit. By then I was more into alternative, punk and the early stages of goth…you know…I hate the world BUT back then I wasn’t about to go hurt someone else over my internal dismay.

So the interesting thing about getting ready to start with this was waiting to see what 3 songs came into my mind while I slept then woke up today.  Yes, I had to sleep on it.  I seem to have this thing in my life that I often wake up singing a song and find it’s trying to tell me something I need to attend to or that I’ve been trying to work out in my subconscious when I sleep.  That’ what the brain does…you’re asleep but it works quietly in the background sub conscious trying to delete information gathered that’s not needed and then try to see if it can figure out how to help you with something that may be bothering you or needs to be problem solved right away.  I hate it when it wakes me up with a solution at 4:00 a.m.! I also have one song that seems to pop up on the radio every time I’m needing to make a major change in my life or I’ve actually decided to make a change and maybe not feeling that it’s the decision others would have made or aren’t supporting me.

Drumroll……the 3 songs that came to me are:

1 )What A Wonderful World – Louis Armstrong version

2) Praise Chorus – Jimmy Eat World

3) Here I go Again on my Own – Whitesnake….yes, Whitesnake.

Can you guess which one is the one that pops on the radio out of no where every time I make a major, if not life changing, decision?

“Well, I know what it means…to walk along the lonely street of dreams. An’ here I go again on my own.
Goin’ down the only road I’ve ever known,
Like a drifter I was born to walk alone
An’ I’ve made up my mind
I ain’t wasting no more time”

Seems fitting because I’ve been dealing with the wasting time issue and getting my project up and off the ground finally after 10 years.  Will this song stop following me now, letting me know I’m on the right track?  Will I get to jump up and down like I’m getting ready for the race and ready to go…that’s what the Jimmy Eat World song does.  Watch out if I’m driving and the daily Jimmy Sing Along comes on the radio.  That song wakes me up.  Gets me focused. As for Louis, I sometimes go through periods of not really liking what I see going on in the world today.  But then something happens that gives me back my belief in this world; that we are capable of kindness and surrounded by beauty even in the most unusual places.