Tags

, , , ,

IMG_1234.JPG

“When you’re finished changing, you’re finished.”
Benjamin Franklin

I often hear about how much the human being fears change, avoids it at all costs. Change for some will only occur if it’s the last option they think they have left. We’ve all heard the saying, ” if it ain’t broke, why fix it?’. I’ve been guilty of it myself. Over the last few years, I’ve learned to approach change with a different attitude. I don’t always like that a change in my world may be needed, especially if I was enjoying the calmness. Yet sometimes a change will actually make me a better person and improve my surroundings or my life.

Working in quality improvement for the past several years is basically all about change. In order to improve outcomes, customer satisfaction, improved quality of care, processes have to be reviewed and improved. New strategies have to be compiled and piloted. A person or organization may think they are doing the best they can because they meet some company or government guideline yet they are running on systems and processes that haven’t been reviewed for years if not decades. A lot may have changed since their original conception. By putting the minds of your staff and managers together, imagine what change and further improvement could occur to make you not only in compliance but maybe a shining example of the best. Change in the workplace can be difficult, especially when trying to get people on board with it, but when done with diligence and respect to how others approach change (yes, there is an area dedicated to Change Management…fascinating actually) – it can improve your situation and make the old way of doing things look antiquated.

Change in the non-work environment happens every day. As an individual you may loathe and believe you’re avoiding having to change. However, that’s never the case. How so, you may ask? You may refuse to change a habit, stop smoking or drinking, stay in a job you dislike or even hate. In the past it may have taken a catastrophe to get you to have to make a change that maybe somewhere deep down inside you knew years ago needed to be done. How does it feel to have the change done to you vs. you having taken the initiative to do it yourself? I can tell you from experience that it feels better taking the initiative. It may not be smooth sailing doing it this way but it sure is a lot less rockier in the overall scheme of things once you look back. I’ve learned (and yes, I’m still learning) that even changes that I labeled as “bad” initially have resulted in something good along the way or down the road. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t run towards change, I don’t always seek it out. Yet I know it has to occur or I will stop growing as a person.

Many years ago I heard in an anatomy class that every seven years a human being has a new body. Every day thousands, if not millions, of cells die within your body and are replaced by new ones. Your organs become new ones due to this change over of cells. I was told it’s why a person’s allergies can change over the years – because they have a new system or body. So you see, you are changing every single day whether you see it or not. It happens to you regardless and it’s O.K.